Learn One Thing: Squash

I recently joined the gym at Yale so I could get back into working out during the winter.  In order to get to the fitness center, I have to walk a sign designating the area behind the sign as the Brady Squash Center, but I couldn’t see inside.  Until I looked it up, I had no idea what Squash was, other than some sort of indoor sport that people at Yale play.  Wikipedia defines Squash as a racquet sport played by two players (or four players for doubles) in a four-walled court with a small, hollow rubber ball.”  Sounds like Racquet ball to me, which is a sport I’ve played before, but the more I read I found that there are some key differences between the sports:

  • Racquet Size (max of 22 inches in Racquet ball, 27 inches in Squash)
  • Ball Size (2.25 inches in Racquet ball, ~1.5 inches in Squash
  • Ball Elasticity (Squash ball is less elastic than the Racquet ball)
  • Court Dimensions (Squash is a smaller (32×21 ft vs 40×20 ft in Racquet ball)

Read more about the Differences Between Squash and Racquetball on www.differencebetween.net.

Want to learn more? Check out other popular posts in my “Learn One Thing” series:

One response to “Learn One Thing: Squash

  1. I love to have fitness and willing to get good ideas about health to join gym for fitness.

Leave a Reply

