New Toy

In the two plus years since the iPhone came out I’ve read a lot about how great it is as a smart phone and about how cool the free and/or relatively inexpensive apps that you can load it up with are.  During this time, I’ve watched as the better and faster versions of the phone came out which improved on many of the pit falls of the early versions (ex: 3G network, video, lack of copy and paste).  Finally, from what I’ve read, it sounds like the latest version (3GS) is a polished product, and lucky for me, my two-year contract with Sprint was up in September, so this past weekend I took the plunge and bought an iPhone 3GS!

iPhone 3GS

iPhone 3GS

Even though I’ve only had it a couple days, I’ve already loaded it up with a bunch of free apps, mostly just to try them out.  Some of them are complete versions and are really fun, others are just sample versions of the paid applications, many of which are between $.99 and $9.99.  A couple of my favorites so far are:

Tap Tap Revenge 2 – similar to Guitar Hero

Shazam – listens to a song playing (for example on the radio) and finds the title, artist and other cool information about it.

Google Earth – Satellite views of earth in the palm of your hand.

Safari – The built in web browser from Apple, lets you surf any website just like at your computer.  Great zoom functions

I haven’t purchased any applications yet, but I’m sure I will when I find something worth while.  I’ve downloaded many more apps that are cool in a useful sort of way, such as Facebook, The Weather Channel, Twitterific, and some location based applications that utilize the GPS functionality.  I really think the location based apps have potential to be the coolest and I hope they really take off in the next couple years.  I’m also interested in seeing what comes out in the Augmented Reality area, which is just starting to pop up.

If I find any more cool apps for the iPhone, I will let you know.  I’m sure there are many more out there.  If you have any favorites, let me know in the comments.

One response to “New Toy

  1. Pingback: Learn One Thing: iPhone 3GS oleophobic screen « Aaron’s Adventures

Leave a Reply

