My 1 year geocaching aniversary

Yesterday (May 31, 2009) marked my 1st anniversary of geocaching, and I almost forgot! Luckily I took some time earlier in the day to track down some new caches close to my apartment in order to mark the occasion. One year a go I decided to try and use my newly purchased GPS unit more often than just the occasional hunting or fishing trip or hike in the woods and try out this hobby I had heard about called geocaching. Over the past year I have found 243 unique geocaches in 3 states (more states to come this year!). During that time I maxed out at 38 finds in April 2009 and bottomed out at 5 finds in February 2009 (brrrr it was cold then, and it’s a short month!). For more interesting stats, check out my geocaching.com profile page.

 

More importantly than the numbers though, geocaching has allowed me to get outside and enjoy the outdoors so much more than in the past, all the while continuing to allow me to be geeky as well. I would estimate that because of the hobby of geocaching I have spent probably 3 times more time outdoors hiking and discovering new parks in the last year than I would have normally. Since I love the outdoors so much, this is a huge benefit to adding this hobby to my repitoire.  Check out my geocaching related blog posts for more stories of my geocaching adventures.

Over the past year I have encountered many interesting geocaches as well as some special milestones along the way.

Here are a few photo highlights:

The nice view from one of my first geocache finds.

The nice view from one of my first geocache finds.

Maggie with the awesome hanging monkey cache we found.

Maggie with the awesome hanging monkey cache we found.

Caching through the snow...

Caching through the snow...

Maggie and Kristen fight with the cache during the NerdHerders innagural geocache trip.

Maggie and Kristen fight with the cache during the NerdHerders innagural geocache trip.

and some more highlights of my favorite caches: 

Favorite Caches
Type Code   Cache Name Description
Virtual GCDDEE Spirit Plaza My first ever geocache and a nice area to visit.
Traditional GCNJN9 Ball Park Pond A geocache that had been around a long time and was near the ball field I hung out at a lot as a kid. I’m sad that it has been muggled.
Traditional GC17E7T Burr Oaks: Swingers Only This is the first cache I found with Maggie and she was amazed at how I was able to find it because it was well camo’d
Traditional GCWEWV Shhhhhh!!! A very interesting cache container!
Traditional GC1862T Wolfe Park 2 (or more) An unique cache location, got lucky that there were no muggles nearby, but still had to be quick and stealthily.
Traditional GCXC27 Pilot Knob A great view!
Traditional GC1A6QN Come to the Holiday ball. A very unique container, also required tons of stealth.
Traditional GC1253W The Oval Office Another unique container. Maggie and I found this one sans-GPSr based on memory while on a walk.
Traditional GC1H03A 394 and 101 S My first FTF!
Mystery GC10PZ6 The Ghost of Ytterboe the Dog Cool mystery cache on the St. Olaf Campus.
Traditional GC1D3PC UNGOWA ! Unique container and hiding spot!
Traditional GCZ36A Moonshine My 100th find!
Multi GC1FN8W Dead Mans Cache An extremely fun pirate themed mult-cache.
Traditional GC148A6 Big Willow Park 10 First find while hiking around Big Willow Park in Minnetonka in knee-deep snow in December!
Traditional GC1CMD6 Hamilton Hill Our second find on Catalina Island during our trip to California in Feb 2009. Awesome view of the island from this overlook!
Multi GC12MJA Baldwin’s Wordsmithy A fun multi with a very unique final container. We really enjoyed this one!
Traditional GC13K10 Mile 4: Lowes Creek Roundabout The first of ten finds for Maggie and I while hiking in Lowes Creek Park in Eau Claire on a beautiful spring day.
Traditional GCZ4QX Schulze Lake Beach The first find for our friends the NerdHearders who we introduced to geocaching with a bunch of finds at Lebenon Hills Regional Park in Eagan.
Traditional GC1PQ90 Riverboat down by the river My 200th find!
Traditional GCV87C Let the Walleye point the way! This one shouldn’t have been that difficult but it took me at least 4 tries to find it. Finally, with Maggie along to try to help, I made the find. What a tough one!
Leave a Reply

