Wisconsin Whitetail Deer Opener

It’s that time of year again, time for Wisconsin’s 9 day gun-deer season, which starts tomorrow.  It seems like every year this day comes faster and faster.  I remember when I was in high school, that last month up until deer season would be the longest ever it seemed.  This year I’ve made a few changes to try to improve on last year’s success:

8 point buck, 2007 deer season

8 point buck, 2007 deer season

I bought a climbing tree stand which I hope will open up a few of the thicker areas for me to hunt and let me see further in the woods. I’ve never hunted from a tree stand before so I’m excited to try this new style of hunting.  I picked up a nice pair of boots that hopefully will keep my feet drier and warmer.  Finally, I’m taking off an extra day at work to increase the amount of time in the woods and hopefully my odds at another successful opening weekend.  Stay tuned for the results!

Leave a Reply

